Tags

, , , , , ,

It seems that when farm boys are away from home and need money, we are comfortable working on a farm.  In the spring of 1959, my roommate Don Kerchove and I found a note on the dean’s bulletin board about a farmer who grew certified seed corn for Jacques Seed in Prescott and wanted tractor drivers to work from 6:00 pm ’til midnight in the fields.

We drove to the CM farm and took the job that paid a whopping $5.00 and hour.  I got to drive a brand new John Deere 530 diesel on a five-bottom Oliver plow and Don drove a John Deere 60 with a wheel disk.  We started on a Monday.  CM told me he had never had a diesel before and I would have enough fuel to last until 10:00.  He said, “I will be out with fuel because if you run out, I’ll have to call the service man to come out to bleed the lines.”

I could hardly wait to call my dad and tell him that I was driving a John Deere 730 with a five-bottom plow.  The biggest tractor we had was a Farmall M with a three-bottom plow.

Well, Don and I had fun plowing and disking on that nice spring night until I ran out of fuel at 10:15 and CM hadn’t come out with more.  When he showed up at 10:30 and saw the 730 out in the field with me sitting in my car, he said, “Joe, I sorta stopped at the bar and got to talking and lost track of time, but I’ll pay you ’til 12:00. Just don’t tell my wife.”

We worked all week and all day Saturday.  It was a lot of fun and Mrs. CM sure did feed us good lunches.  When we got done on Saturday and it was pay day, I went to the barn where CM was milking cows and gave him my time sheet.  He said, “Go to the house and tell the dumb blonde to give you a check.”

I went to the house and said, “C told me to tell the dumb blonde to give me a check.”

Mrs. M said, “Let me tell you one thing, Joe.  I write the checks around here and I never want to hear that again!”

I immediately apologized, got my check, and went back to the barn and said, “C, you really set me up!”

He said, “You didn’t tell her that, did you?”

I answered, “I sure did!”

We worked for CM and Mrs. CM the rest of the spring season in 1959 and 1960.  The pay was good and the food was even better.  We laughed about that comment of mine a lot.  They sure were great people.

Joe Schimml, Ag Ed, Class of ’62

